Blessington Bookstore

"Finding & Discovering Books For You"

Readers Panel Recommend (Childrens) Jake Atlas and the tomb of the Emerald Snake by Rob Llyod Jones

JAindexI really liked this book because it’s got a great story and great characters to match. It’s like Indiana Jones but with crazy technology. I liked it because there’s a girl included in the adventure as well. I think this book is great for boys and girls. I would definitely read a book by this author again.

Saoirse (10)

 

This book surprised me! It’s exciting, fun and gripping. Definitely for action-lovers!

Mia (11)

Buy Now

Posted in Random Thoughts | Leave a comment

Toe By Toe Literacy Workshop

toe by toeFor everybody interested in learning more about the Toe By Toe solution to reading difficulties, Frank Cowling will give a Literacy Workshop in the Blessington Bookstore on Tuesday April 4th from 6.00pm. The workshop is aimed at staff and parents involved with the teaching of struggling readers. The intention is to demonstrate best practice in the use of Keda Cowling’s Toe by Toe reading scheme.
The workshop will demonstrate the best way to use this powerful resource for maximum effectiveness and will be as ‘hands on’ and jargon-free as possible. It also aims to provide a fuller understanding of the difficulties facing struggling readers when they come up against the idiosyncrasies of written English. 

Tickets €10 (including Tea & Sandwich) Buy Ticket

Posted in Random Thoughts | Comments Off on Toe By Toe Literacy Workshop

Posted in Random Thoughts | Comments Off on

Vote for us – before March 9th….

Home

We are honored to be on a shortlist of 3 Irish independent bookshops competing for the title of ‘Best Independent Bookshop in Ireland 2017′

Help!  Click here to vote and tell the judges what your independent bookshop means to you.

It is not the amount of votes  – it’s what our customers feel about us that matters.

The winner will go forward to represent Ireland in the over all competition for ‘Best Independent Bookshop in Ireland and the UK’ on May 8th.

 

 

Posted in Random Thoughts | Comments Off on Vote for us – before March 9th….

Book Club Meeting February 2017

Title: Book Club Meeting
Location: The Blessington Bookstore
Link out: Click here
Description: This Months book of the month is “Good Me, Bad Me”, the phenomenal debut by Ali Land.  All welcome, even if you haven’t read the book! Buy online throughout February (collect instore) and receive a FREE coffee and cake voucher worth €5. http://www.blessingtonbookstore.ie/buy-books-online/cows-for-sale/good-me-bad-me
Start Time: 19:30
Date: 2017-02-15
End Time: 21:00

Posted in Random Thoughts | Comments Off on Book Club Meeting February 2017

Bookstore Book Club

Blessington Book Club 2017

The Blessington Bookstore Book Club is open to all – we have picked a selection of books ranging from thrillers through literary fiction to non fiction.  If you haven’t been able to read the book due to life getting in the way, or just couldn’t get into the story, don’t worry, come along anyway and enjoy the buzz of fellow book lovers and the discussion.

Our book club meets on the 3rd Wednesday of every month, from 7:30 here in the Bookstore.

All our book club reads are available to buy in store, or to buy online and collect in store. The majority of the reads, will tie into our “Book of the Month” promotion, which if bought online and collected in store will also give you a FREE coffee and cake voucher. (see in store for details)

February 15th:

Good me, Bad me – Ali Land: An Explosive debut thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on The Train.

 

 

March 22nd:

Days without End – Sebastian Barry: Costa award winning novel, set in 19th century America.

 

 

April 19th:

The Line – Ian Gargan: Written by Ireland’s leading criminal psychologist, it tells the stories of some of Ireland’s most violent and prodigious criminals.

 

 

May 24th:

The Book of Mirrors – E.O. Chirovici: A gripping psychological thriller full of hidden fragments and dark reflections.

 

 

June 21st:

To be decided

 July and August:

NO BOOK CLUB

September 20th:

The Supreme Court – Ruadhán Mac Cormaic: The judges, the decisions, the rifts and the rivalries – the gripping inside story of the institution that has shaped Ireland.

 

 

October 18th:

When Breath Becomes Air – Paul Kalanithi: This inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question “What makes a life worth living?”

 

November 22nd:

We Were The Lucky Ones – Georgia Hunter: An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who are separated at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive—and to reunite

 

December:

NO BOOK CLUB

Posted in Random Thoughts | Comments Off on Bookstore Book Club

Christmas Opening Hours

poinsettia-1814689_1920Christmas Opening Hours:

Don’t forget we are open Christmas Eve for any last minute buying, or for a cup of coffee to escape the madness…..

Saturday 24th 9-4,
Sunday 25th CLOSED
Monday 26th CLOSED
Tuesday 27th CLOSED
Wednesday 28th – Friday 30th 9-5:30,
Saturday 31st 9-4,

 

New Year Opening Hours:

A book is for life, not just for Christmas. Back open as normal Tuesday 3rd January.

Sunday 1st Jan CLOSED
Monday 2nd CLOSED
Tuesday 3rd Open as normal

We would like to thank everyone for their custom throughout the year, and look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.

Posted in Random Thoughts | Comments Off on Christmas Opening Hours

Customer Christmas Party 2016

BOOK-XMAS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh the weather outside is frightful……

Why not come in and forget about it? Even for a short while….

Everyone is welcome to come to our Customer Christmas Party on Thursday December 8th, from 6-9pm. There will be

-FREE mince pies and mulled wine,

-FREE Linen bags with purchase of adult & non fiction books

-FREE gift with purchase of children’s books

and most importantly, FREE proof copies of books will be given away.

All offers are one per customer, while stocks last.

There will be many great bargains instore on the night…

Plus, at 7pm, there will be the finale of the “Bookseller takes Piano Challenge” and Bach’s Prelude No 1 in C major will be played.

Posted in Events | Comments Off on Customer Christmas Party 2016

West Wicklow Network breakfast meeting

Title: West Wicklow Network breakfast meeting
Location: The Blessington Bookstore
Description: Do you have a business in West Wicklow? Come along and meet other like minded people over a cup of coffee.
Start Time: 7.15
Date: 2016-11-22
End Time: 8.45

Posted in Random Thoughts | Comments Off on West Wicklow Network breakfast meeting

Bookseller takes piano challenge – and struggles…

4 years of age – packed into a prefab with at least 40 other small bodies – the smell of wet wool and the draft from under the door turning your legs purple. I remember teaching myself the alphabet and learning the easy times tables then adding /subtracting to get other multiplications. Still count that way today.

When I came to the piano I understood EGBDF and FACE but once the notes went off the treble stave I had to count them out. Feeling really frustrated that this is still the case. I see the note 2 spaces below E on the music and have to work backwards on the piano – can’t just get that it is A. This is where I have given up in the past.

But not this time. I am going to have to keep trying – even if it is just myself and the team at the customer party on Dec 8th I am going to play the Bach. Just really really hope that one day when I sit down at the keyboard there is a eureka moment of ease rather than effort….

Posted in Random Thoughts | Comments Off on Bookseller takes piano challenge – and struggles…